Go to main navigation Navigation menu Skip navigation Home page Search

Svensson, Lars E.O.

Affiliated Professor
Department of Economics
Professor Lars E.O. Svensson is Affiliated Professor at the Stockholm School of Economics since June 2014 and was Visiting Professor May 2013-June 2014. He was Duisenberg Fellow at the Directorate General Research, European Central Bank, Frankfurt, during September-November 2016; Resident Scholar at the Research Department, International Monetary Fund, Washington, DC, during January 2015-March 2016; Deputy Governor of Sveriges Riksbank (the central bank of Sweden) during May 2007- May 2013; Professor of Economics at Princeton University during 2001-2009; and Professor of International Economics at the Institute for International Economic Studies (IIES), Stockholm University during 1984-2003. He is a member of the Advisory Scientific Committee (ASC) of the European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB) since April 2019.

Lars E.O. Svensson has done extensive research on macroprudential policy, monetary economics and monetary policy, exchange-rate theory and policy, and general international macroeconomics.  He has held visiting positions and lectured at universities, central banks, and international organizations in several countries. He received his Ph.D. in economics from Stockholm University.

He is the recipient of the Great Gold Medal of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences in 2012; a foreign honorary member of the American Economic Association; a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences; a member of Academia Europaea; a foreign member of the Finnish Academy of Science and Letters; a foreign honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; an honorary member of the Latin American and Caribbean Economic Association; a fellow of the Econometric Society; a fellow of the European Economic Association; a research associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research; and a research fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research, London.  He was chair of the Prize Committee for the Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences during 1999-2001, member during 1993-2002, and secretary during 1988-1992.